Busy, Busy, Busy!!

Thank you to everyone for your love and support around Oh Oh, Baby Boy! and our Kickstarter fundraising effort to get this book printed!!! Folks have been amazing spreading the word via Facebook and email, and it’s making all the difference!!

Update: we’ve broken $4,400!!!

Amidst the emailing and posting, and lots and lots and lots of thanking people, I’ve heard from moms, dads, single moms and dads, workers in social services, and teachers about how important this book is. Thank you so much for all your love and energy — the work involved in this project has been so freeing, so enriching, so uplifting, and much of that is thanks to all the folks that have reached out, shared the project with their networks, spread the word, and been so encouraging and supportive.

THANK YOU!!!

J9

5 thoughts on “Busy, Busy, Busy!!

  1. Well, I’m joining the ranks of people spreading the word! I just read about your project on Working Mom’s Break and it couldn’t have been more serendipitous. I JUST had a conversation with a dad at a 2 year old birthday party this weekend about the lack of good women and girl main characters in children’s picture books and he said that the real challenge would be to find a book with a good, solid female character and a dad who actually knew what he was doing. Voila! And here you are. Thank you so much for working on this. I’m certainly spreading the word and am going to track down this dad to make sure he knows about you.
    p.s. Such beautiful images you create!

    • Hey Honest Mom! Wonderful!!! Thank you so much for helping to spread the word about this project!! It’s so true. I can think of one beautiful book that reflects fathers who are active and intuitively Father… wow, I thought I’d be able to think of more…. [that book’s In Daddy’s Arms I’m Tall by Javaka Steptoe] I do have a fun and fantastic book in mind for your search for strong female characters — wait, a couple, actually! I’ll post them on your blog! Really appreciate your word spreading (I need to find or create a verb for that), and positivity!!

      • You are most welcome!! Thanks so much for the Dad book tip. I’ll add it to my list! And look forward to your recommendation about the girl books!!

    • Thanks for your comment! I’m definitely there with you. I would really love to publish multiple versions of the book, each representing different racial/ethnic groups. I hope the resources come in to pull off an endeavor like that one day. There are definitely gaps to be filled in the world of children’s publishing!

Leave a Reply

