Giving Thanks

So much to be thankful for. Just a couple days before Thanksgiving, we were settling it at home after picking Joaquin (age 4) up from school. He hugged my legs loosely, and looked up at me with a smile: “Mommy, thank you for making a book and putting me in it.”

Quite possibly one of the richest, fullest, most beautiful moments of my life. Such a simple thing to say, yet in the context of why I want to create books (to fill that gap of representation); thinking of the books I grew up with, none of which had kids of color in them… it meant so much.

He has been involved in the process from start to finish. I am so blessed.

Wishing you and yours a joyous and love-filled holiday season.

Leave a Reply

